Saturday, 28 July 2018

Australia Day Honours 2018 – congratulations to these NCWV members

Beryle Frances Campbell Foster OAM was awarded a medal in the Order of Australia Medal in the General Division, 2018: “For services to women in Victoria”. Beryle has been a long time active member of NCWV since joining in 1967 NCWV Murray Valley (Swan Hill) Branch. She became the first woman to be elected a Councillor for the City of Swan Hill. Beryle and members of the Murray Valley Branch actively supported the formation of NCWV Sunraysia (Mildura) Branch in 1969, closing in 1975.

In 1986 Beryle joined NCWV as an Associate Member regularly attending bi-monthly meetings and holding many Associate roles. Whilst on NCWV Executive Beryle was a member of the Finance subcommittee (1993) and Functions/Fundraising subcommittee (1993). Her active interest in NCWV has not wavered. When NCWV was invited in 1993 to re-establish the Swan Hill Branch, Beryle along with NCWV member the late Alice Teague accompanied the then NCWV President Janet Galley OAM to Swan Hill to reactivate the Branch. It was wonderful to walk along Campbell Street in Swan Hill and see both Beryle and Alice being greeted by people who they had known when both lived in the district. At the Swan Hill City Council Civic Reception that evening Beryl and Alice knew most guests and the admiration and respect for them was evidence that their time in Swan Hill had been valued and appreciated. Beryle saw service in WW2. She is a member of the League of Women Voters and the Penguin Club.

                                      Beryle Foster                              Jan Kinloch

Janice Ann Kinloch OAM was awarded a medal in the Order of Australia Medal in the General Division, 2018 "For service to women and to the Community of Geelong". Jan's voluntary service is extensive, encompassing Scouting, St. John of God Hospital Auxiliary, The Order of St. of Jerusalem Knights Hospitaller Australia, and the National Council of Women Australia, Victoria and Geelong Branch.

During 30 years of scouting service, Jan has been recognised with the Medal of Merit, World Badge and Outstanding Service Awards. She is still a member and treasurer of the Geelong Scout Heritage and Archive Centre Team. Jan has been a member of St. John of God Hospital Auxiliary since 1989 and President for 20 years, supervising fund raising and the setting up of a staffed Hospital Gift Shop. Jan drives Oncology patients to and from their homes in the Greater Geelong region weekly.  Jan has been a member of The Order of St. John of Jerusalem Knights Hospitaller since 2007 and has recently been made a Dame of Grace for her philanthropy.

Jan is an active member of National Council of Women Vic. Inc-Geelong Branch as President 2003-2007, Treasurer 2009-2018, made Honorary Life Member in 2017, Branch representative on Geelong Heritage Centre Advisory Committee and Osborne House Committee 2004-2018. Jan’s involvement with National Council of Women of Victoria Inc. includes Treasurer 2004-2007, on the Executive as Geelong Branch President 2003-2006 and continues as an active delegate. Jan served as National Council of Women of Australia - Board Co-ordinator of Standing Committees, 2006-07, and attended International Council of Women Conferences in Perth, 2003, and Rabat, Morocco, in 2005, also many NCWA conferences in Australia.                             Anne Parton, NCWV and Geelong Branch member
Johanna Hayter AO - Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia, 2018 "For distinguished service to women in the areas of gender equality and individual rights through leadership and policy development roles and promotion of global health, peace and security". Johanna is former head of International Women's Development Agency (IWDA) and a NCWV guest speaker. 

No comments:

Post a Comment